Viva La Argentina!


“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark TwainMark Twain

Travel, in essence, is one of the most “adventurous” things you can do. Heck, even when I say “travel,” thoughts of foreign lands, foods, people and crazy-cool experiences come to mind.

I’ve been very fortunate to travel and the one thing I’ve learned from my travels is that traveling can become an obsession. Whether you summit Mt. Everest, explore the Amazon Basin or eat homemade Paella in Spain – traveling is an experience in and of itself.

Travel or “The Greatness Beyond” knows my name and it is calling me.

tangoAs of next week, I will be living in Buenos Aires, Argentina for a month. What will I discover? Who will I meet? What kind of foods will I taste? I can safely say… I have no idea and I’m loving it.

There are only two items that I must do while I’m there:

1) Learn the Tango
2) Try Mate

Everything else will be unscripted, but rest assured, documented for all to experience with me.

More to come from South America next week.

11 responses to “Viva La Argentina!

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "argentina"

  2. Smooth sailing, Greg. I know. Travel can be a aphrodisiac. Have great time. Keep us posted.

  3. I live in Argentina. I met an Argentine girl online, came here, and got married, and I’ve been here for about three and a half years now.

    If you’re going to try mate, there are actually very few places like restaurants where you can get it (and the price is deadly). This is because people generally drink it at home. Get yourself a mate, buy the yerba and make it at home. Getting the water at the right temperature takes some getting used to, but if you put a little lukewarm water in the mate before you cebar, you’ll prevent burning the yerba. If you wet the bombilla beforehand and put a little sugar on the filter, it can help prevent clogging, and that way the mate starts out sweet while it’s still at its strongest. And make sure you’ll be able to get yerba at home, because you may become addicted.

    On other subjects: Make sure you’ve got some money. Exchange rate is favorable, but prices are still pretty high, so don’t think you’ll be OK with 1/3 the amount of money. A mixed drink at a bar could cost you 20 pesos or much more. People will occasionally try to scam you, but even if prices sometimes seem counterintuitively high, it’s probably just the inflation.

    Everyone who knows a little bit of English will attempt to speak it with you.

    And lastly, don’t stare at the cartoneros. It’s rude. Some tourists seem to love nothing more than hang out staring at poor people. It’s bad enough being poor as it is without being a photo op.

    Have fun.

  4. I can’t wait to hear what you discover. I lived there recently for 1.5 years and was not ready to return to the us when I was asked to come back.

    The food, the pride, the architecture and definite Euopean flair of the city are all part of its’ charm.

    I’ve posted a lot of shots from my life there which you should be able to find by doingba search on Argentina or Buenos Aires at my blog. I also have a link to a great Argentine food blog I found written by an expat who lives there now.

    Don’t miss an opporutnity to attend a futbol match!

    Safe travels
    Justy

  5. I really like the Twain’s quotation you’ve used to start this post 🙂

    Cheers!

    Lana

  6. The Tango is lots of fun! You’ll enjoy it. Mate is very strong and different. I had to get acquired to the taste, but our friends know how to make it. Let me know if you need some tips, I’ll ask them for you! Have fun and can’t wait to hear about your adventures in Argentina!!

  7. Make sure you tie a lifeline around you so we are able to pull you back in a month. Love you lil brother…have fun, and May the force be with you! Do not pull a Chris McCandless on us and eat the wrong berries. T.

  8. I feel like we are all traveling this road with you…….. You have inspired me with your writing and have touched all of us with your sense of adventure. Can’t wait to hear from you! We love you lots!!!!!

  9. stilllifeinbuenosaires

    Try mate with a little sugar. It’s easier to drink if you consider it bitter.

    For a treat, try Cachefaz alfajores. They are the best.

  10. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Delight!!!

  11. Hola !!! muchas gracias a todos por sus comentarios acerca de Argentina (y los argentinos). El TANGO es la pasión hecha danza, y el MATE, una tradición de gauchos.
    Si gustan aprender a bailar tango, con gusto les enseño. NICE TO MEET YOU !!!!

Leave a Reply

