A Tour of La Recoleta Cemetery


“A handshake and a sip of wine, So say it loud and let it ring, We are all a part of everything, The future, present and the past, Fly on proud bird, You’re free at last.” [Charlie Daniels: written en route to the funeral for his friend, Ronnie Van Zant of the band, Lynyrd Skynyrd.]Monumental

The giant sarcophagi of La Recoleta Cemetery are amazing and astonishing. Some of Buenos Aires’ most famous and wealthy citizens are buried within its walls. Walking down the aisles among these privileged few is almost like watching an episode of Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous… only you start to say “I see dead people.”

From Evita, war generals and politicians to the upper echelon of high society businessman (and women), this cemetery is not only the place to be buried, but also the place to be seen.

Lined as if they were part of a downtown parade, the monuments use their life-sized angels, gigantic mosques and architectural genius to wave at the gawking touristas as if to say “look at me, I’m pretty…” but when you look, you can’t help but wonder if their life was as extravagant as their resting place or as important as they have let on to be.

Do the clothes make the man or does the man make the clothes? While this answer can go both ways for anyone person, I hope that my clothes will not be remembered. They will only be the equipment needed to experience life’s adventures.

[Here are a few photos that I really liked. Take a look at the one with me in it and see if you notice anything. I did not stage this photo and did not realize what was in the photo until I got back home… very weird!]

Here is a YouTube video tour of the cemetery. Enjoy!

One response to “A Tour of La Recoleta Cemetery

  1. Amazed! I’m honored to have a brother who is so talented. Love the pics and writing. I’ve said it before and I’ll continue to say it, “I feel like I’m there with you.”

Leave a Reply

