The Mustache: Full of Glory and Honor


After watching Anchorman, I quickly realized I wanted needed to feel the glory of a full majestic beast perched upon my otherwise naked upper lip; or in layman’s terms – I wanted to grow a mustache.

As some may remember, I grew a beard and it took a while to blossom and for people to notice. Most just thought I was too lazy to shave. Little did they know it was a premeditated experiment concocted one night over a beer and some nachos. Or maybe I was too lazy? None-the-less, it was a good time.

And now, a bit of history. A portrait depicting a Scythian horseman from 300 BC is the oldest known recorded mustache. However, according to Wikipedia, shaving with a razor-sharp stone was possible in Neolithic times.

Like many, I associate money, power, machismo, figures of authority and of course cheesy 70’s and 80’s risque films with the stache or nose neighbor, trash stash, crumb catcher, pushbroom, nose bug, etc.

A few of my favorite mobile tea strainers include Tom Selleck in Magnum P.I. and Will Ferrell in Anchorman:

I’m at day seven right now and while my stash doesn’t even come close to the likes of these two… I can only hope that in the next 30 days my upper lip will have superstar status.

One response to “The Mustache: Full of Glory and Honor

  1. Didn’t notice Tom Selleck had a mustache until I looked for the 3rd time..he he he

Leave a Reply

