Thinking Man or Action Man


 

Thinking Man, originally uploaded by GregDawson.

My sister Terri forwarded a quote to me earlier this week. At first, I sent her back a smart a$$ reply about a monkey, a banana and something else inappropriate. But after a while, the quote really made me think.

Here’s the quote:

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”

– Author unknown

There are a lot of steps between thoughts and destiny and the first is usually the hardest. I think the following quote sums it up pretty nicely:

“Thinking is easy, acting is difficult, and to put one’s thoughts into action is the most difficult thing in the world.”

– Johann Wolfgang von Goethe quotes (German Playwright, Poet, Novelist and Dramatist. 1749-1832)

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about a few projects… and I’ve been overwhelmed by the scope of each. Unfortunately, I’ve procrastinated working on these projects for a few months now… and in those few months, I’m sure I could have completed them.

Leo Babauta over at ZenHabits.net recently posted a step-by-step process of overcoming procrastination. The one step that really jumped out at me was:

5. Just get started. Overcome the initial barrier by diving in [READ MORE]

I think it’s the most essential piece to the puzzle, but of course, the most difficult. Here’s to a productive year and getting things done.

9 responses to “Thinking Man or Action Man

  1. Regarding the quote, it’s a viscious circle – your character will dictate your thoughts (evil or not) and so on.

    As far as your procastination musings, it’s something that’s been on my mind a lot recently. As we age, it seems that we get less motivated. When I was 18, I was rock star motivated to do anything and everything but that fire seems to die over time….unless you have the right people around you to stoke it.

    I’ve started seeing this girl and have noticed I’m much more motivated to work harder at some things with her around.

    That’s why it’s important we all keep those around us moving forward – encourage them to live it up every day.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more Jason. I would even go as far as to say our thoughts and friends/people around us ultimately help shape our individual destinies.

  2. “Hard work is never easy. If it was, we’d all be real men.”

    – Dan Kurash

  3. I guess it’s only hard if you don’t really want to do it. In the sense that if you really want to do it, you’ll make it happen and while in may not seem “easy,” it will definitely not feel like hard work.

    Well put Dan.

  4. Very true Greg. I think the point is to communicate your soul, but that is sooooo hard to do. I constantly struggle with it. I’m currently reading, “Think and Grow Rich” by Napoleon Hill. It’s a classic that is a quick read that touches on many of these points.

  5. Jacqueline Yates

    I read Think and grow rich earlier this year, great book Dan! “What am I thinking?” is probably one of the best questions you could ask yourself on a daily basis. It’s so easy to get stuck in the same thought patters, and we wonder why our life isn’t moving forward? I’m a firm believer in “Change your thought forms, change and heal your life.” After all, everything we see in the physical world is a projection of our physical mind. Something I’ve been struggling with lately is patience. I always have to remind myself that everything arrives at the perfect time, which isn’t always my time.
    Greg, it’s alright to move in between small spurts of procrastination. I’ll admit I’m a perpetual procrastinator but I always get it done in the end! 🙂 Sometimes, these breaks are necessary when we’re just not mentally prepared to take on the project. Like you said, when you’re ready the work won’t seem like work. Life is what you make it, and the hardest part to most things is taking the leap, right?
    We both know this as runners, getting out the door is most often the biggest challenge…

  6. Wow! I’m humbled to think I actually made you stop and re-think. Thanks. I could go on for days on motivation and what exactly pushes us along this path called, “life.” Fear is a good motivator. People who say they don’t have fears …well lets just say I’d like to meet them. One word that has always been a thorn in my side to help motivate me is – CAN’T. I don’t believe in the word or what it stands for. I do not see road blocks. If someone puts a road block in front of me, my mind is already working on another route. I absolutely do not give up on what I want, what I believe in, or what is right. Never have, never will. I always told my son,THE ONLY LIMITATIONS THERE ARE IN LIFE..ARE THE ONES YOU PLACE ON YOURSELF. love you LB

  7. Let me elaborate on what I mean by fear being a great motivator. As your friend said above, as we get older our thinking and our motivation changes. When I speak of fear I am not talking about being home alone on a stormy night and hearing the boogey man in the next room. Although that does add some excitement to life. What I mean is, say you don’t go on a vacation because you FEAR you cannot afford it or won’t be able to afford your life once you get back. If you always put off today what you really long to do because of fear… when will it ever be a good day to do it? We are not guarateed anything..only this very second. Do not stop living or being motivated because of fears! Instead use your fears to motivate you. Fear is that little devil sitting on your left shoulder, while Life is that little angel on the other..both are always warring with each other. Which one are you going to listen to? Live your life! Do not let life live you.

  8. Conclusion: “Do not let life live you.”

Leave a Reply

