A Walk in the Clouds


A Walk in the Clouds, originally uploaded by GregDawson.

With views like this, it’s hard not to believe in God or just simply a higher being. Surely, man cannot make something as magnificent as this. He can only attempt to capture it and share it with friends.

I was reluctant to stop and stay in Gold Beach, OR… not for any particular reason other than I just wanted to make it a few more miles so I didn’t have such a long drive the next day. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about road tripping… but I was feeling a little sore from the previous few days. A new bike, higher handle bars, cold weather, etc… it was getting to me.

Add in the fact that I was pulled over by Mr. Stater about 20 miles before Gold Beach and I finally convinced myself that a stay was imminent in this little, yet curious town. He agreed as he said the road looked like it was winning. Thanks for the beauty tip Mr. Stater.

Upon pulling into town, I noticed that the sun might break through the clouds that were hugging the mountains and highway for the last several hours. I thought, wouldn’t it be great if it just poked through a little bit… just so I could see a “good” not “great” sunset. I wasn’t asking for much… just a little poke through saying “hi, I’m here, come take a picture…”

Well, to my surprise, it was more than a little good… it was magnificent. I did what I could to capture the beauty… but we all know how a picture maybe worth a thousand words, but the real thing is priceless.

Regardless, I hope you enjoy!

7 responses to “A Walk in the Clouds

  1. Couldn’t agree with you more!!! Beautiful! 🙂

  2. awesome pic LB……………

  3. Thank you for sharing this with all of us……..makes you stop and appreciate the beauty that we are all surrounded by, but to often tend to forget about. Looking forward to the rest of your trip. Love you baby brother, be safe!

  4. Thanks for the comments dudes… really means a lot to me that you appreciate it!

  5. Oooooo Ahhhhhh…

  6. Love the picture. Sunsets like this are not uncommon here in Gold Beach. Some of us locals call Gold Beach “God’s Country”
    Thanks for posting this online for everyone to see. Happy Trails ~ From a GB local girl.

Leave a Reply

